Washington Criminal Attorneys Areas of Practice Contact a Washinton State Criminal Defense Attorney Washington Criminal Attorney, Jason S. Newcombe
All felonies
All misdemeanors
855-WA Advice
(855) 922-3842
Free Consultation - Talk to a Washington State criminal attorney now! Flexible Payment Plans Criminal Defense Questions?
Contact Us
Talk to a criminal defense lawyer today. Be sure to ask for your free initial consultation!

Areas of Legal Practice

Washington Criminal Lawyers

Defending your future against criminal charges.

Choosing an attorney to represent you against criminal charges may be the most critical decision you will ever make. It is vital to find a Washington criminal lawyer who understands what a major impact this situation may have on your life and will work closely with you to achieve a favorable outcome.

When you are charged with any type of crime, the prosecutor will do everything possible to secure your conviction. You have legal rights which may shield you from negative consequences, and Washington criminal lawyer Jason S. Newcombe will fight to defend you against having these rights trampled by the government.

We understand what a difficult time this may be for you and your family, and know that you may have many questions about what will happen to you. Our team has more than 30 years of combined experience representing clients in Washington, and we know how to get results in the courts of Tacoma, Seattle, Bellingham,Everett, Olympia, Bellevue, and Mount Vernon. Call us now for a consultation and to allow us to begin work on your defense.


If you are accused of attacking another person, you may be charged with assault. The severity your penalty will depend on factors such as the age of the victim, whether you used a weapon and whether the victim suffered injuries. Defending this type of charge depends on establishing with accuracy what transpired, as it may be possible to prove that you were acting in self-defense. Read more about assault…

BUI (Boating Under the Influence)

Everyone knows that it is illegal to drink and drive, but many people make the mistake of thinking that they can legally operate a boat or other watercraft while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If you have been arrested on charges of BUI, an attorney may be able to help you resolve the situation without negative consequences. Read more about BUI (boating under the influence)…


Burglary consists of entering or remaining unlawfully in a property with the intent to commit a crime such as theft. The penalties for this offense vary depending on whether it occurs in a residence or if the perpetrator carries a deadly weapon. A burglary conviction can lead to a harsh sentence and may significantly restrict your opportunities in the future.

Crimes of Dishonesty

Our state provides severe punishments for crimes of dishonesty, such as forgery, fraud, embezzlement, burglary, robbery, possession of stolen property , trafficking in stolen property and vehicle prowling. It is vital to avoid a conviction, as having such a crime on your record can cause difficulty when you need to pass a background check for employment, housing or credit. Read more about crimes of dishonesty

Criminal Trespassing

Unlawfully entering or remaining upon a property can be charged as criminal trespassing, provided that you knew you were there without permission from the owner or operator of the property. It is punishable by up to a year in jail and $5,000 in fines. A possible defense is to prove that you could have reasonably believed that you were allowed on the property. Read more about criminal trespassing

Domestic Violence

Domestic violence charges can lead to serious negative consequences for your future, with the possibility of a harsh sentence and losing your rights to child custody and visitation. When the police respond to a domestic violence call, they are required to make an arrest on suspicion that an incident has occurred, and the defendant will face prosecution regardless of the victim’s desire to press charges. Read more about domestic violence

DUI and Drunk Driving

Our state has some of the toughest laws against drunk driving in the country, and if you have been arrested for DUI you are at risk of receiving severe penalties. There are many ways to defend this charge, such as arguing that there was not probable cause to pull you over or that there were errors in the field sobriety tests and breath and blood tests. Read more about DUI and drunk driving

Drug Charges

If you have you been arrested on a drug charge such as drug possession, manufacturing, cultivation, or possession with intent to distribute, your future may be at risk. The courts in our area take this type of crime seriously, and the prosecutor will likely pursue the highest level of sentence possible. You can be convicted whether the crime involved street drugs or prescription drugs. Read more about drug charges…

DWLS (Driving while License Suspended)

The consequences for getting caught driving while your license is suspended can be severe, and it is crucial to avoid a conviction. The penalties you face will depend on whether this is your first offense and the reason why your license was originally suspended, but you may be sentenced to up to a year in jail, as well as seeing your insurance rates increase significantly.Read more about DWLS (driving while license suspended)


Life can be difficult with a criminal record. You may be having trouble finding work, as well as encountering problems when you need to pass a background check for housing or credit. Expungement makes it possible for you to improve the situation by vacating your prior criminal conviction, as well as reinstating your rights to possess firearms and to vote.

Fish and Wildlife Charges

It is necessary to obtain a valid license to fish or hunt in our state under most circumstances, and if you are accused of violating the applicable statutes you can be penalized for an infraction or a crime. An attorney with experience in this area of law can represent you with the goal of resolving the charges in your favor.


You can be charged with forgery if you are accused of attempting to commit fraud by creating or altering an official document, as well as for using a document that you know to be forged. This identity theft crime is a felony, punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. Read more about forgery


Harassment consists of unlawfully threatening to cause damage to another person’s body or personal possessions, or to place the person under confinement or restraint. It is often charged in domestic violence cases, and carries a penalty of up to a year in jail, though the sentence may be increased to 5 years in prison under certain circumstances. Read more about harassment

Hit and Run

Drivers are required by law to stop when they have been involved in a car accident of any severity, to exchange insurance information with the other driver and to render any aid necessary. You can receive a harsh sentence if convicted of hit & run, especially if you are accused of driving drunk or if the accident caused injury or death. Read more about hit and run

Juvenile Crimes

If your child has been arrested for any type of crime, you must take action to prevent this situation from resulting in long-term negative consequences. Conviction for offenses such as theft, shoplifting, assault, minor DUI, malicious mischief and drug crimes can ruin your child’s future by eliminating educational opportunities and significantly reducing employment opportunities. Read more about juvenile crimes

Malicious Mischief

Willfully and knowingly causing damage to another person’s property can be charged as malicious mischief, a misdemeanor or a felony offense depending on the extent of the damage and the cost of repairs. There are two sides to every story, and an attorney from our firm will help you gather evidence to support your account of the event. Read more about malicious mischief

MIP - Minor DUI Individuals who are caught in possession of alcohol under the age of 21 can be sentenced to up to 90 days in jail, and minors under 18 years old will face a mandatory driver’s license suspension. Our state provides harsh penalties for underage DUI, and a conviction may not only lead to a tough sentence and a criminal record which can negatively affect your future career. Read more about MIP - minor DUI

Negligent Driving

If you have been cited for negligent driving, you must take action now to avoid suffering serious consequences. In addition to hefty fines, loss of driver’s license points and steep increases in your insurance rates, you also face the possibility of a criminal conviction which could have far-reaching effects in your life. Read more about negligent driving

Physical Control

You can face penalties similar to the punishment for drinking and driving even when you are sitting on the side of the road. If a police officer finds that you are in physical control of a non-moving vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, including prescription medication, you can lose your driver’s license and be convicted of a crime. Read more about physical control

Possession of Marijuana

Have you been arrested for possession of marijuana? The penalties you face will vary according to the amount of cannabis that was found on your person, in your vehicle or in your home. There are ways to defend this charge, such as by demonstrating that your Constitutional rights were violated in the search. Read more about possession of marijuana

Prostitution Crimes

Whether you have been charged with prostitution or solicitation of a prostitute, you will likely face vigorous prosecution and the possibility of receiving a harsh criminal sentence. An attorney from our firm will seek to resolve the situation quickly and discreetly, to defend you against serious long-term consequences. Read more about prostitution crimes


Street racing is illegal in our state, and if you have been charged with this crime you can be sent to jail and fined up to $5,000, as well as lose your driver’s license. You can be arrested for racing regardless if you were driving over the speed limit, whether it was an impromptu drag race from a stoplight or an organized street race. Read more about racing

Reckless Driving

Reckless driving is not only a traffic offense, it is a gross misdemeanor, punishable by up to a year in county jail and a $5,000 fine. It also will cost you points on your license, leading to a possible revocation lasting up to 7 years, as well as requiring you to pay more for SR-22 high risk auto insurance. With so much at stake, do not take any chances with your case. Read more about reckless driving

Resisting Arrest

Any criminal charge can be made worse by allegations of resisting arrest. It is a misdemeanor offense, capable of adding 90 days in jail and an additional $1,000 in fines to your sentence. You could further be charged with obstructing a police officer if you are accused of willfully hindering or delaying a law enforcement officer in the course of duty. Read more about resisting arrest…


Robbery is a major criminal offense, occurring when the perpetrator uses threats of force or physical violence to deprive another of property or possessions. The penalty will be enhanced if you are accused of using a deadly weapon or inflicting injury upon the victim. Even if it is impossible to secure an acquittal, it may be possible to have the charges reduced to less serious crime.

Sex Crimes

If you have been accused of a sex crime such as child molestation, rape, sexual assault or child pornography, you are at risk of receiving a harsh criminal penalty including imprisonment, fines and probation. You may also be required to register as a sex offender, exposing you to public censure and possibly limiting your choice of where to live. Read more about sex crimes


Retail theft is a crime, and the penalty you will receive if you are convicted depends on the value of the item you are accused of stealing. You must do everything you can to have the charges dropped or to have yourself exonerated, as the consequences include jail, fines and a criminal record which could follow you for years. Read more about shoplifting


Theft is one of the most frequently reported crimes in our state, and the courts typically deliver tough sentences for those who are found guilty. Depending on the value of the stolen goods, you can be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony. A theft conviction on your criminal record can make it extremely difficult to find a job or pass a background check for housing. Read more about theft

Violation of No-Contact Orders or Protection Orders

If you were served with a no-contact order or a protection order following an arrest on domestic violence charges or after the other party accused you of stalking, you must take every precaution to avoid being charged with violating the order. Pending criminal charges could be more difficult to defend, and you could lose your probation.

Washington Felonies

Our state’s legal system classifies the most serious criminal offenses as felonies. These crimes are punishable by at least one year in state prison, and punishments range up to a life sentence or the death penalty. You can also be fined several thousand dollars and placed on a strict probation, as well as having to live life as a convicted felon.

Washington Misdemeanors

A misdemeanor is punishable by up to a year in county jail, but many people are allowed to serve some portion of their sentence on probation. Do not underestimate the seriousness of a misdemeanor charge, as it can leave you with a criminal record which will come up every time you have to pass a background check, as well as counting as a prior conviction if you are arrested in the future.

Contact a Washington criminal defense attorney for dedicated representation and experienced guidance throughout the process of resolving your charges.

Contact one of our Washington criminal defense lawyers today.
Call TOLL FREE for help:

855-WA Advice
(855) 922-3842